Archive for July, 2012

A continuation at all the faces behind the vendor tables at the 2012 GFA Convention.


Read Full Post »

The last day of the convention! It’s always a flood of emotions – the anticipation of seeing who wins the International Concert Artist Competition, the sadness of saying goodbye to old and new friends, and the inspiration from a week filled with guitar, guitar, and more guitar.

Sunday began with a concert given by the guitar orchestra. It is quite a feat to perform a concert with the few rehearsals that are slated during convention week, and conductor Julian Gray did a fine job of preparing the group. This year’s repertoire included Albeniz’s Bajo la Palmera and two movements from Dancas Populares Brasileiras by Celso Machado.

The performance by the orchestra was followed by a truly unique setting of the Mozart opera Bastien & Bastienne for three guitars (Christopher Teves, Marco Sartor, and Christopher Guay) and singers. The orchestral score was arranged for guitar by Timothy Walker.

Volunteers like these have made this convention run all week long!

The future editor of Soundboard, Kim Perlak, with GFA Tour Director Lynn McGrath and Zoey Johnstone.

Competition directors and duo partners Risa Carlson (IYC) and Martha Masters (ICAC).

Getting ready for the evening’s Hall of Fame awards backstage. We were honored to have the legendary Christopher Parkening and his lovely family join us in Charleston. As a surprise, his recording producer and close friend Dave Thomas also flew in for the occasion.

Brian Head, GFA Artistic Director, introduces the Hall of Fame awards.

Brian Jeffrey accepts his Artistic Achievement Award via video from his home in London.

Jack Sanders accepts a Distinguished Service Award on behalf of his wife, Carol Sanders.

Jeff Cogan speaks in honor of luthier Daniel Friederich, the recipient of the Industry Leadership Award.

Another Artistic Achievement Award is given posthumously to Andres Segovia. Christopher Parkening speaks in his honor, recounting funny stories of the maestro and describing all the things that made Segovia great.

Parkening was also the recipient of an Artistic Achievement Award, and took the opportunity to share some important news with the GFA community. As a slideshow of Parkening’s many accomplishments flashed on the screen, one could not help but think of all the ways he shaped the landscape of American classical guitar during his performance career.

And of course, we can’t forget about our competition winners, who all played incredibly in the finals round. They waited patiently for all the speeches to be over so they could hear the results, which are posted here.

And so ends another convention. We can’t wait to see you next year in Louisville, KY!

Read Full Post »

What an amazing finals round we heard last night! The winners of our 2012 International Concert Artist Competition are:

Rovshan Mamedkuliev (Russia) – 1st Prize
Celil Kaya (Turkey) – 2nd Prize
Silviu Ciulei (Romania/USA) – 3rd Prize
Ivan Sanchez Flores (Mexico) – 4th Prize

Below, our four finalists with ICAC director Martha Masters.

Rovshan Mamedkuliev will begin his tour in 2013-2014.

Read Full Post »

It’s hard to believe that our convention is almost over! Below, the McCallum Fine Arts Academy Ensemble gets ready for a performance.

Meanwhile, the Luthier Showcase allows guitar buyers to hear 35 different guitars played by two performers, Ricardo Escobar and Adam Kossler.

Italian guitarist Cristiano Porqueddu performs a program of music by Angelo Gilardino.

He is followed by another Italian guitarist, Massimo Della Cese, who plays music of Giuliani, Rodrigo, Iannarelli, and Gangi.

One of our 2012 Hall of Fame honorees, the legendary Christopher Parkening, gives a presentation on “The Creative Process Behind Classical Guitar Performance.”

Cuban guitarist Marco Tamayo gives a stellar performance at 4pm.

Our evening performance is given by Roland Dyens, a master of nuance and color. He is applauded with three standing ovations and gives two beautiful encores. The first is a piece by Ernesto Nazareth with French guitarist Gaelle Solal, and the second is one of his own compositions.

Read Full Post »

Our IYC Competitors played their finals round this morning. Results were announced at the beginning of the 4pm concert in Sottile Theater.

Senior Division
Huaicong Mu (China) – 1st Prize
Shon Stelman (Israel/US) – 2nd Prize
Noam Kanter (Netherlands) – 3rd Prize
Tobias James (US) – 4th Prize

Below, Risa Carlson, IYC Director, with Senior Division finalists.

Junior Division
Kevin Loh (Singapore)- 1st Prize
Woo Tak Kim (S. Korea) – 2nd Prize
Ashwin Krishna (US) – 3rd Prize
James Graham (Canada) – 4th Prize

Below, Risa Carlson with Junior Division finalists.

Here are the winners from both divisions with the judges. Congratulations to all!


Read Full Post »